Home   Webmail     


Hearty Congratulations to Dr. Ritu Gupta, Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry, IIT Jodhpur for NASI Young Scientist Platinum Jubilee Award-2021


About the Award:

The National Academy of Sciences, India was founded in the year 1930, with the objective of providing a national forum for the publication of research work carried out by Indian scientists and to provide opportunities for exchange of views among them.  NASI-Young Scientist Platinum Jubilee Award has been instituted by the NASI to recognize promise, creativity and excellence in young scientists. The award shall be made in recognition of notable contributions made by the candidate in any branch of S&T recognized by the NASI on the basis of work carried out in India.  



Dr. Ritu Gupta has made significant research contributions in functional nanomaterials and unconventional methods of fabrication towards new generation devices. She has developed cost-effective and scalable methods for solar cells, energy storage devices, hydrogen production, water and air quality sensors while progressing with technology development in healthcare and environmental monitoring.


Biographical Details:

Dr. Ritu Gupta obtained her PhD from Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research (JNCASR), Bangalore, in 2013 and carried out Postdoctoral Research at Birck Nanotechnology Centre, Purdue University, USA. She joined IIT Jodhpur in 2015 as Assistant professor as youngest faculty in the department. She is presently working as an Associate Professor at the Department of Chemistry, Indian Institute of Technology Jodhpur. Her research covers the development of new generation functional nanomaterials for flexible devices of relevance to Energy, Environment and Healthcare. Her research group is actively working on electrochemical energy devices and nanosensors for environmental monitoring. She is also a recipient of the INSA Young Scientist Medal-2020, SERB Women Excellence Award-2021 and IIT Jodhpur Research Excellence Award 2021. She is also inducted as a member of the Indian National Young Academy of Sciences, INSA; Community Board Member, Materials Horizon Journal, Royal Society of Chemistry and Associate at Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore in 2021.