IIT Jodhpur
Distinguished Lecture

Distinguished Lecture
Department of Chemistry invites Faculty Members, Scientists, Scholars, and Students interested to know more, perform research in Chemistry of Materials, Colours, and Minerals for a Distinguished Lecture by Professor Srinivasan Natarajan, Solid State and Structural Chemistry Unit, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore.
 Date and Venue Information:
4 September 2015, 5.00 pm, Room No. 2102, Academic Block II
 Title of Lecture:
 “Permanent Color and Chemistry”
Most of the paintings dating back to the pre-historic period have particular colour combinations – Red and Black.  In India, the paintings at Ajantha and Ellora have many different colours and appear to have been preserved for many centuries. The paints used by the earlier settlers/civilizations have their origins in important minerals available naturally. In modern days, new discoveries shape the quest towards newer pigments, some of which are based on well-known structures. The new pigments with Blue, Pink and Red colors are being sought after in paint industry as they are weather and temperature resistant.  As part of the talk, the diversity in these compounds along with a possible mechanism for color would be highlighted.
Brief CV
 Professor Srinivasan Natarajan is a Ph.D. from IIT Madras and his research interests in Inorganic Solid State Chemistry include Synthesis, structure and mechanistic studies of framework solids, Magnetic interactions in low-dimensional solids, Heterogeneous catalysis, photocatalysis, ionic and electronic conduction studies, and Li-ion Conduction, Ceramic Pigments. Professor Natarajan has about 300 research publications, with a H-index of 55, 12000 citations and 13 reviews to his credit and is serving on the editorial boards of national and international journals like European Journal of Inorganic Chemistry, Chemistry: An Asian Journal, Zeitschrift für anorganische und allgemeine Chemie, Crystal Growth & Design, Bulletin of Materials Science.  
He has been an Elected Fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore in 2008, National Academy of Sciences, India in 2010, and The Indian National Science Academy in 2012, Fellow of Royal Society of Chemistry in 2013, and Ramanna Fellow during 2008-13. He is also a JC Bose National Fellow during 2013-18, Inorganic PAC Member (DST) during 2013-15, and a Member of Research Council at Central Electrochemical Research Institute (CECRI), Karaikudi.