IIT Jodhpur

Condensed Matter (Experimental/Theoretical/Computational) and Plasma Physics Group

The group at IIT Jodhpur is pursuing research in Experimental and Computational aspects of Condensed Matter and Plasma Physics. The blend of young and experienced faculty members in the group has a strong R&D focus to address the cutting-edge challenges faced by the nation in the fields of energy, climate change and sustainable growth, etc. The major fields of research being pursued are Functional materials for strategic application, Materials for energy storage and harvesting, photovoltaics and solar thermal applications, Multiscale modeling of soft matter, Molecular devices for electronics, Magnetic and Multiferroic nanostructures and nanomaterials, , Mechanical properties of glasses, Wetting-Dewetting behavior on surfaces, and Development of cold plasma technologies for health applications and surface engineering. The endeavor is to create an ecosystem to carry out interdisciplinary research by taking advantage of all the expertise and resources available at IIT Jodhpur. In order to encourage that, the group has established Thematic Research labs viz, Functional Materials Lab, Thinfilm and Plasma Devices Lab, Multiscale Characterization Lab, and Computational Lab, where various applied and fundamental research activities are carried out. The faculty members have established strong collaboration with national and international institutes and thus remain at the forefront of research via the exchange of ideas and research scholars. The group envisions to grow further embrace new members into the family and continue to strive to carve a unique path in the future for the department and the nation.
Condensed Matter Physics


 Faculty  PhD scholars
  1. Ambesh Dixit
  2. Amitava Mitra
  3. Durgamadhab Mishra
  4. Prabhat Jaiswal
  5. Ram Prakash
  6. Sampat Raj Vadera
  7. Santosh Mogurampelly
  8. Satyajit Sahu
  9. Shahab Ahmad
  1. Abhijeet Jaysingrao Kale
  2. Atanu Betal
  3. Anupam Chetia
  4. Chandra Prakash
  5. Dibyajyoti Saikia
  6. Durgabatee Rout
  7. Jayanta Bera
  8. Kiran Ahlawat
  9. Madhusmita Swain
  10. Nishtha Vats
  11. Rajneesh Chaurasiya
  1. Ram Milan Sahani
  2. Ramavtar Jangra
  3. Ramniwas Meena
  4. Rashid Malik Ansari
  5. Sipra Mohapatra
  6. Suleman Jalilahmad Ansari
  7. Sumit Kukreti
  8. Syed shuja Hasan zaidi
  9. Vigyan Gadodia
  10. Vinayak Pundir
   Research and Development Highlights
  1. An advanced photocatalytic oxidation sterilization system based on UV-light and metal oxide nanoparticles catalyst panels for disinfecting medical assesories
  2. Bipolar resistive switching in solution processed BiFeO3 thin films
  3. Molecular Memory Switching Device Based on a Tetranuclear Organotin Sulfide Cage
  4. R-VAPOL-phosphoric acid based 1 H and 13 C-NMR for sensing of chiral amines and acids
  5. Photo-Rechargeable Organo-Halide Perovskite Batteries
   Ongoing Projects

Some of the Ongoing projects undertaken by the group are listed below

  1. Photo-Rechargeable Perovskite Batteries for Future Mobility
  2. Development of nanostructured Cu2ZnSn(S/Se)4 thin films and their electronic properties for next generation solar photovoltaic applications
  3. Sulphur nanoparticles Reinforced Hierarchical Assemblies of Carbon nanotubes for efficient Lithium-Sulphur Batteries
  4. A UV-light Sterilization System to treat N95 Filtering Face-mask Respirators for reuse
  5. Food Products Sterilization using UV Light to fight COVID-19
  6. Photo-Rechargeable Organo-Halide Perovskite- Transition Metal Dichalcogenide Batteries
  7. Synthesis and study of properties of electrochemically active composites based on lithium intercalated silicates of iron, manganese,cobalt and having high electron conductivity corbosilicides of transition metal
  1. Institute of Materials for Electronics and Magnetism, Parma, Italy
  2. The University of Cambridge, UK
  3. The University of Manchester, UK
  4. National Institute for Materials Science, Japan
  5. Indian Institute of Science and Educational Research, Bhopal
  6. Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee
  7. Defence Laboratory Jodhpur
  8. Weizmann Institute of Science, Rehovot, ISRAEL
  9. JNU, NewDelhi
  10. Central University Rajasthan
  11. CSIR-Central Electronics Engineering Research Institute, Pilani
  12. Institute for Plasma Research, Gandhinagar
  13. Bhabha Atomic Research Centre (BARC) Mumbai & Vizag
  14. CSIR - Nantional Metallurgical Laboratory, Jamshedpur
  15. Indian Institute of Science-Bangalore
  16. Indian Institute of Technology-Delhi
  1. Scanning Tunneling Microscope
  2. Quantum Design Physical Property Measurement System
  3. Quantum Design SQUID Magnetometer
  4. DC and RF Sputtering
  5. Spin-Coater
  6. Langmuire Blodgett System
  7. LCR meter and Multiferroic device characterization
  8. Furnaces, Ovens and Hot plates
  9. Fume Hoods
  10. Probe stations
  11. Source Meter