IIT Jodhpur
 RF, Microwaves and Photonics

Welcome to the RF, Microwave and Photonics group of Electrical Engineering Department at IIT Jodhpur.

With the rapid technological improvements in hand-held devices such as tablets and mobile phones, the requirement of faster access of wireless resources is ever increasing. The group mainly focuses on design of active and  passive components for modern transceivers. Along with research in high frequency circuit design, the group aims to improve the quality of understanding in microwave engineering through various practical as well as computer aided simulations.

Optical Techniques would be the fundamental enabler for many future technologies and applications including high-speed data communication systems and Internet of Things. The Photonics group in the department is working on exploring various device applications of multimode optical fibers. The current work is towards generating arbitrary multimode beams and highly pure Laguerre-Gaussian (LG) beams in free-space. The group is also targeting the generation of orbital angular momentum beams using optical fibers, and their use in free-space optical communication systems. In addition, the group also works on security issues in the Physical layer in free-space optical networks.

Current Research Themes:                    Associated Technology Tracks
  • Millimeterwave antennas and circuits for 5G application
  • Chipless RFID
  • Microwave passive components (Filter, coupler, crossover etc.)
  • Microwave active components (LNA, oscillators, mixer etc.)


  • ENA Series Network Analyzer (300KHz-20GHz)
  • ENA Series Network Analyzer (100KHz-4.5GHz)
  • Noise Figure Analyzer, 10MHz to 3GHz
  • 20GHz Microwave Signal Generator
  • C and X band Waveguide components
  • Horn antenna - L, S, C and X band
  • Ansys HFSS
  • CST Microwave Studio
  • Agilent ADS


Wireless and Microwave Lab

For utilization request, please email at soumava@iitj.ac.in.  


Ongoing Projects:

  1. Substate Integated Coaxial Line (SICL) based Circuits and Systems for Millimeter Wave Application
    Department of Science & Technology (DST), Government of India
    Soumava Mukherjee, PI
  2. Design and Development of Substrate Integrated Waveguide (SIW) and Empty SIW (ESIW) Based RF-Microwave Components
    Science and Engineering Research Board, DST, Government of India
    Arani Ali Khan, PI
  3. Experimental Investigation and Performance Evaluation of HARQ Technique for Free-Space Optical Communication Systems
    Science and Engineering Research Board, DST, Government of India
    Aashish Mathur, PI

 Awards and Appreciations:

  1. Idury Satya Krishna, InCAP Travel Grant, 4th October 2018, INCAP, Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)
  2. Idury Satya Krishna, European Microwave Conference Student Grant Award, 15th June 2019, European Microwave Association (EuMA)
  3. Idury Satya Krishna, CSIR Foreign Travel Grant, 08th August 2019, Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR)
  4. Naman Baghel, InCAP Travel Grant, 4th October 2018, INCAP, Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)
  5. Naman Baghel, TENCON Travel Grant, 22nd September 2019, Indian Radio Science Society (InRaSS)
  6. Idury Satya Krishna, MTT-S MGA Student Sponsorship Initiative (Asia Pacific Microwave Conference 2019, Singapore), 14th November 2019, Microwave Theory and Techniques Society (MTT-S IEEE)


 Faculty Members
  Soumava Mukherjee
Research Interests:
Substrate Integrated Coaxial Line (SICL), Substrate Integrated Waveguides (SIW), Broadband/Multiband Planar Antenna, Dual-polarized Antennas and Dielectric resonator Antennas.
Office location: Room no. 225 , Department of Electrical Engineering
(91 291) 280 1361
Web: http:

  Arani Ali Khan
Research Interests:
RF & Microwave components
eMail: aakhan@iitj.ac.in
Office location: Room no. 208 , Department of Electrical Engineering
(91 291) 280 1364


Nitin Bhatia
Research Interests:
Multimode Interference (MMI) in Optical Fibers, MMI Devices, Generation of multimode optical beams, nonlinear fiber optics, optical communications components
eMail: nitin@iitj.ac.in 
Office location: Room no. 220 , Department of Electrical Engineering
(91 291) 280 1366



Aashish Mathur 
Research Interests: 
Power Line Communications, Free Space Optical Communications, Visible Light Communications
Office location
Room no. 226, Department of Electrical Engineering
(91 291) 280 1362 
http://home.iitj.ac.in/~aashishmathur, https://mathur329.wixsite.com/aashishmathur


 Technical Staff

Gajraj Sharma

eMail: gajrajsharma@iitj.ac.in
Phone: (91 291) 280 1391
 Ph.D. Students
  Idury Satya Krishna
eMail: krishna.2@iitj.ac.in
Lab: Room 232, Microwave and millimeterwave laboratory
Supervisor: Dr. S. Mukherjee
Thesis title
  Naman Baghel
eMail: baghel.1@iitj.ac.in
Lab: Room 232, EE Building
Supervisor: Dr. S. Mukherjee
Thesis title
    Sourav Ghosh
eMail: ghosh.3@iitj.ac.in
Lab: Room 232, EE Building
Supervisor: Dr. S. Mukherjee
    Ajay Gupta
eMail: gupta.38@iitj.ac.in
Lab: EE Building
Supervisor: Dr. A. A. Khan
    Smeeta Hota
eMail: hota.1@iitj.ac.in
Lab: EE building
Supervisor: Dr. A. A. Khan
    Saurabh Shukla
eMail: saurabhshukla@iitj.ac.in
Lab: Room 232, EE Building
Supervisor: Dr. S. Mukherjee

Kritarth Srivastava
eMail: srivastava.14@iitj.ac.in
Lab: EE Building
Supervisor: Dr. N. Bhatia



Contact Us: 

In case of queries, feel free to mail at