Home   Webmail    हिंदी संस्करण  

Latest @ IIT Jodhpur

1st Decennial Lecture
Date and Venue Information:
11 February 2019, 04:05 - 05:30 PM, 308, Lecture Hall Building

Title of Lecture:

"Sanskar" of Innovation by Dr. Tapan Misra, Distinguished Scientist, Former Director, Indian Space Research Organisation, Ahmedabad
As a nation, we have realised that in order to catch up with the rest of the world, we need to improve our economy to such a growth rate, that decades of backwardness in economy is quickly overcome with long strides.In fact, we need to improve our performances in all sectors of economy i.e., industry, mining, agriculture, services etc. Essential requirement is that we have to change the way we carry out business or production. To put in perspective, we have no other go but to invest in innovation.      
 Both Government and Private institutions have realised this bottom line and more and more resources are being invested in terms of innovation hub, venture funding, economic incentive, academic curriculum etc. etc. The talk is going to focus on a neglected subject, innovation environment or better “Sanskar” of Innovation, without which all our efforts will not lead to desired result. Even in the decades, when our economic policies and administrative processes were not suitable for rapid economic growth, still a few institutions were performing much better than national average, bringing in many innovations even when they faced the same difficulties like the rest of the country. In my considered view, they could perform better even in the environment of restrictive funding and other difficulties because of an environment of innovation, inculcated by founding fathers. With my three decades of association with growth of ISRO, I could understand certain contours of this environment. My focus on this aspect, hopefully will be useful for the fledgling institutions like IIT Jodhpur.  
About the Speaker
Dr. Tapan Misra started his career as digital hardware engineer and involved in Microwave Remote Sensing payloads in SAC. He managed system engineering of Multi-frequency Scanning Microwave Radiometer (MSMR) payload for IRS-P4 during 1995-1999. He was involved in design for the development of C-band Synthetic Aperture Radar (SAR) of the RISAT-1. He wrote an algorithm for real-time processing of SAR data during his stint as a guest scientist in the German Aerospace Agency in 1990. He was also associated with development of the multi-frequency scanning microwave radiometer instrument of Oceansat-1 and Scanning Scatterometer of Oceansat-2. He served as the deputy director of microwave remote sensing area of Space Applications Centre before being appointed as the director in February 2015. He also heads the Office of Innovations Management, ISRO, Bangalore. For a brief period, he had additional charge of Director, Physical Research Laboratory, Ahmedabad. He received Vikram Sarabhai Research Award in 2004 and ISRO Merit award in 2008 for his contribution of development of SAR technology. He was elected as Fellow of Indian National Academy of Engineering in 2007. He was elected Corresponding Member of International Academy of Astronautics in 2008. He holds two granted patents, six pending patents. He has five copyrights and more than twenty-five papers to his credit.
For more details, please click here.